Virtual Tour: Let’s Get it Started

Courtesy of Cheryl Willis Hudson

See that picture. That’s me sharing One Million Men and Me, published by Just Us Books and illustrated by Peter Ambush, at a national conference. I’m excited to now have the chance to celebrate the 15th anniversary of the Million Man March in a special way. For the next two weeks, I’m embarking on a virtual tour that will include interviews about the book and my writing life, guest posts, notes from children and other special surprises.  I also have some programs and book signings lined up.

Please check out the schedule below and come along on my journey. Make sure you stop by here during the tour too. I’ll share a fact about One Million Men and Me or the March each day. I’ll also post printable activities for kids and family extras. If you post a comment on this blog, my FaceBook author page or on any of my tour stops, you win a chance to receive one of three prizes — a One Million Men and Me T-shirt, tote bag or signed poster. I’ll draw the three winners on the March anniversary — October 16.

I’m so grateful for all of the support I’ve received.  When I first thought about doing a tour, I envisioned visiting five blogs in the days leading up to the March anniversary. Now, my tour includes 10 blogs, four radio shows and four events. What a blessing.

I want to say a huge thank you to Just Us Books (such an amazing publisher) and illustrator Peter Ambush. You turned my dream of creating a picture book about the Million Man March into reality. Thanks, too, to all of the bloggers, radio hosts, booksellers and museums who are hosting me. I’m moved by your generosity. Finally, I want to thank Nancy I. Sanders and Katia Novet Saint-Lot whose fantastic virtual tours inspired me to do one of my own. 

Here’s my schedule:

October 5 – The Brown Bookshelf, Together AsOne and Multiculturalism Rocks!

October 6 – The 3 R’s – Reading, ‘Riting and Research  and 9 p.m. interview on The John T. Wills Book Tree Radio Show

October 7 – Multiculturalism Rocks!  and 1:45 p.m. interview on Literary Nation Talk Radio with Patrick Oliver

October 8 – Ripples from the Tide Pool

October 9 – Bronx Latino and participation in Tribute to Novello  

October 10 – Laurie J. Edwards – Author, Artist and Dreamer  with a cross-post at The Susquehanna Writers and 6 p.m. interview with Peter Ambush on The Antique E Show . . . Preserving American History Through Vintage Black Literature

October 11 – Devas T. Rants & Raves! (interview with illustrator Peter Ambush) and interview on Carrboro Book Beat Radio Show

October 12 – Scribbly Katia

October 13 – Mitali’s Fire Escape

October 14 – Kristi’s Book Nook

October 15 – Bowllan’s Blog and 4:30 p.m. Reading  & Meet the Author event at All Booked Up Used Books & Collectibles

October 16 – 15th ANNIVERSARY OF THE MILLION MAN MARCH — 11 a.m. Storytime & Reading  Hour at International Civil Rights Center & Museum

October 18 – 6 p.m. March Anniversary Program at the August Wilson Center for African American Culture

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce Moyer Hostetter
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 13:19:21

    So excited that you will be stopping by my blog on Wednesday! Looking forward to celebrating this amazing historical event AND your portrayal of it. Looking forward to all the facts you will be sharing at your blog as well.


  2. Clay Carmichael
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 11:13:29

    I love this, Kelly. I’m looking forward to marching along virtually and reading the updates. March over when you’re in Carrboro. XO Clay


  3. Carol Baldwin
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 15:34:22

    Hope this tour is a great celebration! (and what a wonderful promotion idea!)


  4. kelstar71
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 12:59:12

    Joyce, thank so much for your support! I love your post today. I’m honored to be on your blog.


  5. kelstar71
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 12:59:37

    Thanks, Clay! Will do :).


  6. kelstar71
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 13:00:03

    Thank you, Carol! Look forward to seeing you Saturday.


  7. Crystal Allen
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 14:02:09

    Joyce, you gave us an awesome interview with Kelly! The trailer gave me chills! So glad to have caught up with the tour. I’m so proud of Kelly!


  8. Laurie J. Edwards
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 15:59:33

    What a great line up, Kelly! Looking forward to having you on the 10th. Best of luck with all your appearances!


  9. kathyerskine
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 23:13:13

    Loved your interview on Joyce’s blog. Thanks for writing a very worthwhile and meaningful book!


  10. kelstar71
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 00:00:33

    Thanks so much, Kathy! I appreciate your kind words.


  11. Trackback: ‘Skipper-Talk with Kelly Starling Lyons « Ripples from the Tide Pool
  12. Shelia Moyer
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 17:53:00

    I’m so proud of you! I enjoyed your interview on John T. Wills Chronicles (blogtalkradio). Best wishes on all of your appearances.


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

